RMPA Mentor Award Winners: 

2011    Paul Bell                      Colorado State University

2012    Steve Barney               Southern Utah University

2013    Roxanne Sullivan         Bellevue University

2014    Lynn White                 Southern Utah University

2015    Patrick Sherry             University of Denver

2016    Rick Miller                  Texas A&M University – Kingsville

2017    Doug Woody              University of Northern Colorado

2018    Krista D. Forrest         University of Nebraska 

RMPA Mentor Award Call for Nominations

RMPA is seeking nominations for the 2019 Mentor Award, which will be presented at the 2019 RMPA convention.  Mentoring is a structured and trusting relation that brings younger professionals or students in contact with experienced faculty members or other professional psychologists who offer guidance, support, and encouragement aimed at developing the knowledge, professional skills, competencies, and character of the younger person. RMPA recognizes that the mentoring relationship is vital in the development of psychology graduates and students at all levels and has established a Mentor Award to recognize outstanding mentors. The Mentor Award Committee is comprised of the RMPA President, Past-President and the President-Elect. Recommendations of the awards committee are ratified by the RMPA Executive Committee. A nominee who does not win the award will automatically have his or her materials considered for a second year.

Criteria for the Award. 

Please nominate a RMPA member who has demonstrated exceptional mentoring through some or all of the following activities:

* Involving large numbers of students in the annual RMPA meeting

* Shepherding the early career development of various members of the RMPA

* Supervising and encouraging the scholarly activities of various members of the RMPA

* Contributing to the professional development of members of the RMPA

To Nominate a Candidate for the Award.  All that is required for a nomination is a brief nomination letter summarizing the person’s mentoring by addressing the criteria above. Self-nominations are acceptable. Send nominations via e-mail to: Susan Becker, sbecker@coloradomesa.edu.  Deadline for Nominations: TBD